Who will be the Indian Film Personality of the Year at IFFI 2017?

IFFI 2017 - Centenary Award for the Indian Film Personality of the year

The Indian Film Personality of the Year is an annual award given to a veteran from the Indian Film Fraternity at IFFI, since the year 2013. As the Indian cinema completed its 100 years, the Information and Broadcasting Ministry came up with the ‘Indian Film Personality of the Year Award’ to commemorate this great achievement and honour a film personality for their outstanding Contribution in Indian Film Industry through their films, music and entertainment. This Award consists of a Silver Peacock Medal, a certificate and a Cash Prize of Rs. 10 Lakhs.

In a few days, a legendary film artiste will be seen receiving this deemed honour at IFFI 2017. The answer to who will the personality be is still shrouded in mystery.

But for now, Let’s have a glimpse of the recipients of this glorious award in the previous editions of IFFI.


1. Waheeda Rehman (2013)

Waheeda Rehman (IFFI 2013)

Recipient of the first ever Indian Centenary Award, this outstanding actress won million of hearts through her movies like ‘C.I.D.’, ‘Pyaasa’, ‘Kaagaz Ke Phool’, ‘Sahib Bibi aur Ghulam’, ‘Teesri Kasam’, ‘Mujhe Jeene Do’, “Reshma aur Shera” and ‘Khamoshi’. Considered as the most prominent actress in the Golden era of Indian Cinema, Waheeda Rehman through her captivating performances and her flawless dancing skills in the movie ‘Guide’ along with Dev Anand, mesmerizes everyone till this date.


2Rajnikanth (2014)

Rajnikanth (IFFI 2014)

The God of South Indian Cinema who is worshipped all the time, this legend does not need any introduction. Rajnikanth is a huge figure in Indian Cinema. His Movies, when gets released, draws hordes of fans who are ready to stand in the Ticket Queue as early as 4am. Blockbusters like ‘Chandramukhi’, ‘Sivaji’, ‘Enthiran’ and many other films are some of his amazing hits that saw massive box office collections.  His upcoming movie ‘2.0’ along with Akshay Kumar and Amy Jackson is the most awaited movie and is expected to break some of the all time records.


3. Ilaiyaraaja (2015)

Ilaiyaraaja (IFFI 2015)

Prominent Film Composer Ilaiayraaja was the recipient of this award in the year 2015. He is put at the 9th position in the list of 25 greatest film composers in the cinema history thus becoming the only Indian to feature in this list. He believes that Music must be made compulsory in Schools as it will help curbing Violence in the country.  His composition “Rakkama Kaiya Thattu”, sung by SPB and Swarnalatha in the movie Thalapathi (1991), was among the songs listed in a BBC World Top Ten music poll.


4. S.P Balasubrahmanyam (2016)

S.P Balasubrahmanyam (2016)

A Singer with an amazing record of 40,000 songs, recipient of civilian honors like Padmashri & Padmabhushan from the government of India, won 6 National Awards in the category of Best Playback Singer, S.P. Balasubrahmanyam is one of the most accomplished singers of Indian Cinema. He holds a Guinness World Record for recording maximum number of songs. He is also considered to be the voice of Salman Khan Starrer films during the 90’s and was a hit in the song like ‘Mere rang Hain’, ‘Hum Aapke hain Kaun’ and ‘Pehla Pehla Pyaar Hain’.

This year IFFI will be held from the 20th to the 28th of November. With the Indian Film Personality of the Year still left to be announced for IFFI 2017, it’s anyone’s game. Who do you think will be bestowed this deemed honour this year? Keep guessing until we announce it soon.