Retrospective of Indian New Wave Cinema at IFFI 2019

IFFI, in its 50th year dedicates a section of Films to the Indian New Wave Cinema. This selection includes 12 films produced in India from the late 1950s to the late 1970s that were distinct in the narrative, style and budget, compared to those being produced in the mainstream Bombay film industry. The retrospective opens with the films ‘Ajantrik’ and ‘Meghe Dhaka Tara’ by Ritwik Ghatak, who has a resounding influence on this new wave of cinema and remains one of the most pioneering and influential filmmakers of independent India.

Another director featured in this section is Mrinal Sen who was an acclaimed filmmaker associated with the New Wave Cinema in India. He won the National Film Awards 18 times, and also the Padma Bhushan (2008) and Dadasaheb Phalke Award (2005).

The other important filmmakers presented through this programme are, Mani Kaul, Kumar Shahani, Shyam Benegal, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, G. Aravindan and John Abraham.

The complete list of films featured in this category

  • Ajantrik (The Pathetic Fallacy) by Ritwik Ghatak
  • Meghe Dhaka Tara (The Cloud-Capped Star) Ritwik Ghatak
  • Bhuvan Shome  by Mrinal Sen
  • Uski Roti  (A Day’s Bread)  by Mani Kaul
  • Swayamvaram (One’s Own Choice) by Adoor Gopalakrishnan
  • Tarang (Waves) by Kumar Sahani
  • Duvidha  (In Two Minds) by Mani Kaul
  • Ankur (The Seedling) by Shyam Benegal
  • Uttarayanam (Throne of Capricorn) by Govindan Aravindan
  • Bhumika (The Role) by Shyam Benegal
  • Agraharathil Kazhuthai (Donkey in a Brahmin Village) by John Abraham
  • Thampu (The Circus Tent) by Govindan Aravindan

The 2019 Golden Jubilee edition of the International Film Festival of India is to be held from the 20th of November till the 28th at Panjim, Goa. The festival will see a variety of films in many languages from all around the world coming together under a single roof.

Register as a Delegate Today!